Haiku by George L Smyth

  • Haiku
  • Haiku

    Release Info:

    1. Artist: George L Smyth
    2. Cat. No: CAAM0017
    3. Release Date: 2018-04-02
    4. License: CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
    5. Liner Notes: George De Bruin
    6. Cover Art: Original photo by Erik Johnson (via Unsplash) / George De Bruin

    Track Listing:

    1. Springtime In Edo
    2. Lighting The Sky
    3. Pampas Faces
    4. Room To Sky
    5. Miles Upon Miles
    6. I Taste The Mountains
    7. The Silent Night Sea
    8. This Ruined House
    9. Years Gone By

Haiku by George L Smyth

Each of the pieces on Haiku were written in response to a haiku. The nine haiku this work is based on are included in the liner notes to the release.

George L Smyth spent a couple of years studying Music Theory and Composition in college in the early 1970s. Without the resources to have his music performed, his interest in composition waned. With the advent of software to perform that service, the passion has been rekindled.

The music George writes generally revolves around an ambient classical style, while occasionally branching out to touch other areas. His music is firmly rooted in structure, note placement, and movement within the piece.

More in Ambient View All