The Floors of Silent Seas by Daniel Robert Lahey

  • The Floors of Silent Seas
  • The Floors of Silent Seas

    Release Info:

    1. Artist: Daniel Robert Lahey
    2. Cat. No: CACL0015
    3. Release Date: 2018-05-07
    4. License: CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
    5. Liner Notes: George De Bruin
    6. Cover Art: Original Photo by Ryan Moreno (via Unsplash) / George De Bruin

    Track Listing:

    1. Scuttling Across The Floors of Silent Seas (Thing 448)
    2. Introit (Thing 517)
    3. Rondo Scherzando (Thing 518)
    4. Moderato Serioso (Thing 519)
    5. Thing 539
    6. Thing 541

The Floors of Silent Seas by Daniel Robert Lahey

This nautically themed release from Daniel Robert Lahey borrows it’s opening imagery (as well as the title of this release) from T.S. Eliot’s most famous poem: The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock:

I should have been a pair of ragged claws

Scuttling across the floors of silent seas.

A rather simple couplet, and a very evocative image that is often overlooked for many other lines from this poem. This is the way which Daniel wors, something he is reading or experiencing finds its way into his mind, and he will often have a urge to compose a new piece that reflects that experience.

Often he covers these works with titles that reflect his sense of humor through word play. Other times, as in the choice of a T.S. Eliot reference, the words themselves convey enough meaning.

More in Classical View All