Urge by Cousin Silas
$0.00 - $5.00

  • Urge
  • Urge

    Release Info:

    1. Artist: Cousin Silas
    2. Cat. No: CAAM0006
    3. Release Date: 2016-06-28
    4. License: CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
    5. Liner Notes: George De Bruin
    6. Cover Art: Lake under heavy rain by Jonathan Bean (via Unsplash)

    Track Listing:

    1. Dark Seasons
    2. Before The Act
    3. Urge

Urge by Cousin Silas
$0.00 - $5.00

Sometimes Cousin Silas just has an urge. In this case, he felt the sudden onset of the wish to compose and release a recording of dark ambient music. And, when that want hit, it only took him a day or two to complete the work. (Or, at least, that’s how it appeared on Facebook.)

This is a release that displays another side of Cousin Silas’s creative potency: the ability to create dark, abstract sounds for brooding, meditative scenarios. A peek inside the dark conflicts of nature and the dark side of the nature of humanity. From the conflicts that arise from seasonal change, to the conflicts we face for our actions, and even the connection between the conflicts of nature and the state of humanity.

It seems that there is a lot of darkness around the world. Many countries are involved in some form of social or political struggles with darkness. While Mr. Hughes might not address these topics directly, his music seems fitting to the current moods of the world. And. it seems possible a bit of that darkness has been channeled into these works (at least to my ears). And yet, even with all the darkness that permeates these pieces, there is the occasional glimpses of light through the clouds.

More in Ambient View All