All Like Pretty And Stuff by Daniel Robert Lahey

  • All Like Pretty And Stuff
  • All Like Pretty And Stuff

    Release Info:

    1. Artist: Daniel Robert Lahey
    2. Cat. No: CACL0011
    3. Release Date: 2018-04-02
    4. License: CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
    5. Liner Notes: Robert Nunnally
    6. Cover Art: Original Photo via PxHere / George De Bruin

    Track Listing:

    1. All Like Pretty And Stuff (Thing 436)
    2. Brasser (Thing 447)
    3. Mysterious and Dangerous (Thing 446)
    4. Recuerdos de las Cuerdas (Thing 445)
    5. Riffin' On The Strings (Thing 435)
    6. Take Heart (Thing 443)

All Like Pretty And Stuff by Daniel Robert Lahey

Daniel Robert Lahey’s music shows its ambient influences and its classical roots in the album “All Like Pretty and Stuff”. The title track has a somewhat symphonic fee. The cut “Brasser (thing 446)” exudes a quiet, measured melancholy with gentle, stair-step chords. “Mysterious and Dangerous (thing 447)” makes foreboding less a penance than a prayer. “Recuerda los de la Cuerda (“thing 445”) recalls the lethal silken strings more than the lash. “Riffin on the Strings (thing 435)” treats string samples as melodic percussion to achieve a melody with a vaguely Nancarrow feel. “Take Heart (thing 443”) has an elegiac beauty pervading its vaguely ceremonial melody. The album as a whole is an intriguing and rewarding listen.

More in Classical View All